Moms Meatloaf

I don’t make meatloaf very often but when I do I always make my mom’s recipe. She has been making the same meatloaf for 40 years and although it is a relatively simple recipe people ask her for it all the time. The only person I know that doesn’t like it is Emily and that is only because of the onions. I don’t know if I have ever mentioned this before but she hates all onions, no matter how they are prepared or how small you cut them up unless it’s deep fried. When we had meatloaf as kids she would sit there and pick out all the tiny onion pieces while complaining to our mom and asking if she could somehow leave the onions out of her part next time. I do occasionally make subtle changes to the recipe to add a little flair such as bbq sauce or crushed up cheese flavored crackers instead of oatmeal, but typically we keep it the same.

The other important factor in this meatloaf is the sauce, this is the way my grandmother has been topping her meatloaf since sometime in the 50’s. It may seem like a hassle when you could just squirt some ketchup on top but I promise you it makes all the difference. I should tell you that when she makes it the amount of brown sugar is doubled what I have included here but I imagine this recipe is back from the time when they used real sugar in ketchup and not the overly sweet corn syrup they have now but if you want feel free to go for it with the extra sugar.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl, its best to use your hands to really get it all incorporated. Place the mixture in a loaf pan sprayed with cooking oil, press the mixture down into the pan and make sure the top is smooth. Place in the oven for 45 minutes.

Meanwhile in a small sauce pan add all the ingredients for the meatloaf sauce. Cook over a low heat just until the sugar is melted and the sauce comes together. Place half the sauce evenly over the meatloaf once the 45 minutes of cooking is complete, place back in the oven for another 15 minutes. Remove from the oven and let cool for 20 minutes before slicing, serve with your favorite comfort foods on the side and the rest of the sauce slathered on top.

As you may remember we were going to incorporate yucca root into a meal this week so we served in mashed alongside the meatloaf. I have not included a recipe for that because It was sort of a bust, Paul liked it but he has the least discerning palate of anyone I know. Emily and I found it to be a little strange in the texture department. Perhaps we will give it another shot in the future and if that turns out to be amazing I will share that with you. It was however fun to see everyone come into the kitchen and look at it boiling away with interest, I bet it would be even more exciting with little kids.

Much Love, Aislinn and Emily

This entry was posted in beef, dinners, Quick and Easy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

