Chicken Pumpkin Enchiladas

I really wanted to make something fun and special for Halloween dinner this year, and what’s more fun than a savory pumpkin dish? I looked around online to see if I could find a good recipe and I came across this one for pumpkin enchiladas, it looked really good but I wanted to make some changes to it because of course that’s one of the things I like most about cooking. I thought the filling needed a more saucy quality to it and I wanted to add more pumpkin to the dish, I mean I had 15 0z sitting there, I didn’t just want to use half a cup. I also had a difficult time finding the cheese she used, I’m sure if I could have found it in the specialty cheese section it would have been expensive. I headed over to the shredded cheese section and picked out a Mexican cheese blend that seemed like a good mix. I made some other changes as well, so hopefully you will be able to pick and choose from this recipe and the original to make something you will love.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Slice the onions thinly and cook on a low heat for an extended amount of time so they are caramelized rather than sautéed.

Add the finely diced chicken to the pan and cook until no longer pink, add ½ the cumin and 3/4 cup of pumpkin puree to combine. Meanwhile add the remaining pumpkin, half and half, chicken stock and the spices in a bowl and mix well to form the sauce. Once the chicken mixture is done, take off the heat and add ½ a cup of cheese and the sour cream stirring to incorporate completely. Spray your baking dish and add ½ cup of the sauce to lightly coat the bottom of the dish. Evenly distribute the filling amongst the tortillas, then roll and place in the dish seam side down. Cover the tortillas with the remaining pumpkin sauce and the other half the cheese. Bake for 45 minutes, remove from the oven and let stand for 10 minutes before serving. Add additional sour cream and or diced green onions if you would prefer.

Much Love, Aislinn and Emily

This entry was posted in chicken, dinners, holidays, mexican, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

