Sausage Stuffed Acorn Squash

I have come across several recipes recently that have various things stuffed inside some sort of squash. The problem of course is that I couldn’t really find one that everything I was looking for. So naturally I just started making them and adding things as I went hoping for something edible in the end. To be honest, these were my favorite dinner we had all week. They were so good that I am thinking about making them again soon, if you knew me you would know what a big deal that is. What I liked about this recipe is that it incorporated some of the fruit flavors I was looking for along with the savory ones that add the much needed balance.

It occurred to me when we were eating that this would also be an amazing use for left over stuffing. It wouldn’t taste the same unless you make this exact stuffing, so I recommend that you try it this way at least once but I wouldn’t be offended if just use your left-overs next week.

I served each person both sides of a 1.2- 2 lb squash and it seemed to exactly right. I gave Paul the squash that was slightly larger and he said that while he loved the flavors he would have preferred less squash to stuffing ratio. With that being said I would not suggest making larger squash and serving each person half, if you are looking to make smaller servings I would just look for smaller squash.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Carefully split each squash in half, place cut side down in a large dish or jelly roll pan and place in the oven. Meanwhile add the oil and diced onions to a large skillet on medium heat, cooking till softened. Add the carrots, apples, celery and garlic to the pan and cook until the tender. Tear or slice the bread into ½ inch cubes and add to the pan along with the cranberries and seasonings, stir well to incorporate. Add the water a little at a time until your stuffing mixture is the texture you desire making sure it is at least moist enough to clump together. The squash is done when you can easily press the skin and it gives, at this point remove from the oven and turn the squash open side up. Evenly distribute the stuffing amongst the squash halves, pack the mixture well so it stays. There should be enough for them to be mounded slightly, once filled place back in the oven for another 20 minutes. Remove from the oven and serve.

Much Love, Aislinn and Emily

This entry was posted in Bread, dinners, fruit, holidays, low fat, Uncategorized, veggies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

