Turkey and Cranberry Enchiladas

In my pursuit to find new ways to prepare Thanksgiving leftovers I found myself on Better Homes and Gardens website searching though some article on turkey recipes. I came across this enchilada recipe and thought it sounded interesting. I like the idea of enchiladas more than the actual taste of the traditional recipes; it’s usually really spicy and overwhelmed with sauce. So anytime I find a recipe for them that uses unusual ingredients or pairings I figure it’s worth a shot.

I made a few modifications to the recipe because I did not have any fresh cilantro or scallions; if I make them again I would add those items in because I think it would add a touch of freshness to the food. I used a Mexican blend cheese rather than Monterey jack because Emily and I do not really do spicy food, if you do however I think it would work well with the cranberries. I also think this would have been better if the cranberries were more tart, perhaps cooking down fresh cranberries with orange juice but no sugar would have been better. All in all it was tasty and interesting and I may make this again next year with the changes. If you are a cranberry lover and purchase a ton of extra this time of year then this might be the recipe for you.  If you are wondering why we would post a recipe that we do not absolutely love, it’s because Paul really liked it and I figure there are others out there who would too.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly coat a baking dish with cooking spray; set aside. Meanwhile make the filling, in a large bowl stir together shredded turkey, half the cranberry sauce, beans, 1 cup of the salsa, 1/2 cup of the cheese, sour cream, green onions, cilantro, cumin, salt, and pepper. Evenly distribute filling on all 12 tortillas. Roll up tortillas and place seam side down in backing dish. Mix together remaining salsa and cranberries and dollop over the top, sprinkle the remaining cheese over the top. Bake for 45 minutes covered and the 15 minutes uncovered, serve warm with sour cream on top and chopped cilantro and scallions.

Much Love, Aislinn and Emily

This entry was posted in 1 pot meals, dinners, fruit, holidays, low fat, mexican, planning, Quick and Easy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Turkey and Cranberry Enchiladas

  1. Tiffanee says:

    Oh my this sounds like my type of recipe!! Looks and sounds delicious!! I would be the only one eating it in my house because no one else likes cranberries. In this case I wouldn’t mind having them all to myself. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

