Gingerbread Biscotti

Each year we make a large number of cookies and candies for Christmas. I make trays of cookies for Paul’s coworkers and individual tins of fudge for the families of the people on his team. I also send cookies to my grandmother’s house, we have brought cookies over there every Christmas for as long as I can remember and I know that everyone appreciates having them. Normally I send them to my dad as well but he is coming down for Christmas this year so I’m sure he will just eat his fill here and then take some home with him. I would say there are 5-7 types of cookies that we consistently make every year and then we make a couple new kinds each time.

This year I decided that I wanted to make biscotti for the first time so while searching for the right flavor I decided that gingerbread sounded like a good choice. I tend to be one of those people that like gingerbread in theory but the actual taste is not something I really enjoy. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised at how good these gingerbread biscotti taste. This recipe is also what I would consider to be a healthier treat; there have very little fat and less calories than most cookies.

Another great thing about these biscotti is that the recipe can easily be changed or modified to include other flavors. I plan to make all sorts of flavors in the coming months, especially now that I know what to expect and how to actually form the biscotti. I’m sure that there are a million different ways to do it and if you have a great method then by all means use that but I included some directions below just in case you need them.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and grease two cookie sheets. In a large bowl, mix together oil, applesauce, sugars, eggs, and molasses. Once combined add the flours, baking powder, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg; mix into wet mixture to form a firm dough.

Divide the dough into 4 equal size balls. I rolled each ball into a log about 1 ½ inches thick, then I flattened the loaf out to form a rectangle. At this point I moved the loaf onto the greased baking sheet and proceeded to further shape the rectangle making it even and about ½ inch thick.

Bake in preheated oven for 25 minutes, one sheet at a time. Remove from oven, and set aside to cool. After 20 minutes cut the loafs, I first cut down the center the short way and then cut down the center the long way of each half. I cut each section in half again the long way making the final biscotti rectangle shape.

Place sliced biscotti on cookie sheet, with one of the already cooked sides down and the cut edges exposed  and bake an additional 5  minutes, or until toasted. Meanwhile melt the chocolate in the microwave in 15 second intervals until melted and then drizzle over the warm biscotti. Allow the biscotti too completely cool and the chocolate to harden then place in an air tight container.

This entry was posted in Baking, Bread, breakfast, dessert, holidays, low cal, low fat, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gingerbread Biscotti

  1. domestictoby says:

    These look amazing – definitely want to try them. I love anything and everything gingerbread including anything ginger such as gingerale and even ginger tea when I am sick. Thanks for the post!

    http://domestictoby.wordpress.com

  2. Hi,

    I was just wondering as you have your usual favourites, how these compared? They look really nice but as I am not the best sweet maker in the world I want to at least make the recipes everyone else has tried and tested 🙂

    did the biscotti go down well?

  3. Katie Petty says:

    A recipe right up my alley! Thanks girls!

Leave a Reply

