Mocha Macadamia Shortbread Star Cookies

I promise, this will be the last cookie post of the season, but I did save the best for last. The reason I made this recipe is because I was having a difficult time finding one that already existed that had all the ingredients I was looking for. Each Christmas season I suck it up and buy a container of macadamia nuts to bake with because it is my husband’s favorite. He even requested a white chocolate and caramel macadamia nut cheesecake for his birthday next week.

The basic white chocolate macadamia nut drop cookies really don’t do anything for me so I was determined to find something that would be better this year. Unfortunately when I looked for a recipe there was nothing that even had the ingredients I was looking for let alone something that had good reviews or looked amazing. It should have been easy to find a mocha shortbread recipe with chopped macadamia nuts, white chocolate and semi sweet chocolate cookies that could be rolled and cut out, right? Well it wasn’t so I had to combine several recipes and improvise along the way but in the end I ended up with a cookie that is not just good but great!

The first batch I made of these had the chocolate chips and nuts left whole. I don’t know if you can imagine this but trying to get a cookie cutter through the center of a macadamia nut was no easy task. I placed the finished dough in the food processor to try and chop the nuts, and it did work somewhat but had I chopped the nuts before adding them to the dough mixer it would have worked much better. I thought the cookies ended up being very festive as they were star shaped but next year I will use some additional white chocolate chips, melt them and drizzle over the cookies.

In your stand mixer beat margarine, sugars, and vanilla until smooth. Meanwhile mix the instant coffee, cocoa powder and boiling water, mixing until dissolved. Add the coffee mixture cookie base and beat until incorporated. Add eggs one at a time; beat until smooth, approximately 5 minutes. Add flour, salt, baking soda, nutmeg, and cinnamon to the mixer.

In a food processor add the macadamia nuts and pulse until broken down to small pieces but not ground fine. If you would like the chocolate chips to be the same size then add them to the processes as well. Add the nuts and chocolate to the dough and mix by hand. Separate the dough into 4 equal pieces, cover in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 5 to 24 hours. The dough can be kept in the fridge for up to a week or frozen for longer storage.

When you are ready to make the cookies, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Take one disk of dough out of the fridge at a time; roll the dough out just as when making sugar cookies. Place the cut out cookies on an ungreased sheet, if you have parchment paper I suggest using it to prevent the bottoms from browning. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until the dough is no longer shiny. Allow the cookies to cool completely on racks or newspaper then store in an airtight container.

Much Love, Aislinn and Emily

This entry was posted in Baking, dessert, holidays, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mocha Macadamia Shortbread Star Cookies

  1. Pingback: Caramel macadamia nut cheesecake | Grandma's Canning Jars

Leave a Reply

