Menu Planning Monday December 20th: Christmas Eve dinner traditions

Our family tradition for Christmas Eve Dinner is to make all sorts of appetizers and serve them buffet style. I’m not exactly sure who started the tradition or why but everyone I know that does it really cherishes the tradition because it really truly is a one of a kind meal. I know that for many families Christmas Eve is sit down meal, but if you are looking for something new and different this year I highly recommend you try this. The very first time my husband ever experienced it was the year we were engaged and hosted Christmas for the first time. My mother, sister and I were busy making trays and trays of food and he looked so excited, I mean what man is not going to love such a fun and unfussy meal at the holidays. I always make an effort to have a somewhat traditional and formal sit down meal for Christmas so I think this brings a nice contrast.

The next Christmas we hosted had his family here for the week before and day of and my family here the following day through New Years. I guess that is when the idea struck him that we should have appetizers on Christmas Eve and New Years Eve so that has become our new tradition, it is honestly his favorite thing about the way my family does Christmas.  There are so many great options to choose from that I make a different menu for the two nights, partly because I hate eating the same food so close together, partly because there are just too many great options to just repeat food and partly because I am a little neurotic about this sort of thing.

This year we will be having:

  • Stuffed mushrooms
  • Mini sausages
  • Egg rolls
  • Shrimp with cocktail sauce
  • Cream cheese stuffed Jalapeno
  • Pizza bites
  • Spinach artichoke dips tortilla chips and veggies
  • Crab dip with crackers
  • Baked ravioli with marinara sauce
  • Bbq meatballs
  • Asian chicken salad bites
  • Shredded pork tostadas with a salsa sauce
  • Cheese fondue with bread and apple bites

Our Menu this week looks like this:

for more menu planning ideas check out organizing junkie

Much Love, Aislinn and Emily

This entry was posted in holidays, menus, planning, Quick and Easy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

