Menu Planning Monday January 3rd 2011: How to incorporate vegetarian meals into your menu

I’m sure that with it being the New Year that many menu planning Monday posts are going to be about cooking healthier meals, many of them will probably focus on adding vegetarian meals into your diet. If this is something you are interested in doing then I’m sure you considered all the good reasons for doing so and are not looking to be convinced but rather are looking for help in coming up with ideas of what to make. It can be a lot harder than it sounds to cook vegetarian meals when you are not accustomed to doing so, the first couple might come easy but unless you are interested in eating the exact same thing over and over you are going to have to come up with some new ideas. Last year my resolution was to cook one vegetarian meal a week, I thought it would be a breeze, well it wasn’t. I wanted to share with you my tips for coming up with meal suggestions that meet this requirement in case it dawned on you after making this your resolution that you don’t actually cook that many vegetarian recipes and therefore have no idea what to make. As you know I meal plan a month at a time, among the many reasons that I listed for you in my post dedicated to the topic I also plan that way because it makes it easier to incorporate specific goals. Having one vegetarian meal a week sounds daunting, having to come up with four ideas and I am done for a whole month somehow sounds easier.

I start by choosing at least one vegetarian soup, there are so many great soups to choose from that it should be no problem to come up with one that your family likes. If you are stumped try homemade cream of tomato, broccoli and cheese or baked potato soup. If it is the summer months then I will make some sort vegetarian burger instead, such as black bean, falafel or portabella mushroom burgers. Next I try to select one of my Saturday pizza nights to be vegetarian, there are tons of great white pizza options and then I usually make something with fruit or other veggies to go with it. At this point I will have spent about 2 minutes and I am already half done for the month!

For the next week I will usually choose something pasta related because that is something I feel very comfortable making vegetarian. We have lasagna or stuffed shells about once every 3 months with other options sprinkled in. The last week I will devote to making something completely new that I think my family will enjoy. This month I am going to try sweet potato burritos, they sound good and have great reviews for the recipe I selected, they will either be amazing in which case I will keep them on my possible list to choose from in the future or they will be average and I will simply move on to something else entirely next month. Best of luck!

This week the plan is…

For more menu planning ideas visit organizing junkie

Much love, Aislinn and Emily

This entry was posted in low cal, low fat, menus, planning, Uncategorized, vegetarian, veggies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

