Menu Planning Monday February 21st: Thanksgiving again

Every year at the end of February I make another Turkey feast. I started doing this a few years ago because Turkey is always such a good price in November that it’s hard to pass up buying a couple extra birds.  I make the meal at the end of February because it’s been a good couple of months since the last big turkey dinner but still winter so we are able to incorporate the extras into soup. I don’t serve the exact same thing as last time, I try and change up the sides and make the meal all around healthier. This time we had smoked turkey, homemade multi grain rolls, cranberry sauce, souffléd sweet potatoes, steamed green beans and mashed cauliflower/potatoes. I made extra rolls to have with the soup, enough sides for shepards pie plus a frittata and enough turkey to make rueben’s.

Aside from the above reasons I also like that I can get so much stock from one turkey compared to a chicken and to me they are somewhat interchangeable in recipes. I love having so much of my meal prep done in advance, I always put the left overs away with the portions I need for meals in separate containers in our second refrigerator and the stuff everyone can eat for lunches in the kitchen refrigerator. Depending what you serve with your turkey it can also be a very frugal week, I estimate that I spent less than $20 on everything for Sunday dinner and the additional ingredients needed to make the other 4 meals. When you include the amount of additional stock and the leftovers it really is cheap eating, a vegetarian meal and pizza night means that the cost of lunches and dinners this week is right around $30. I of course spent more than that because I shop two weeks at a time and when I have a lean week I am able to stock up on other foods to help carry through the longer months.

This week we are having Turkey and…

For more menu planning ideas check out organizing junkie

Much love, Aislinn and Emily

This entry was posted in menus, planning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Menu Planning Monday February 21st: Thanksgiving again

  1. Annika says:

    I was craving turkey and made it a few weeks ago 🙂 I soak mine in a brine for 48 hours and then slow roast it. It is so good! Shepherds Pie is always a hit with my kids, I haven’t made it for awhile, I should again, thanks for the reminder. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

