Menu Planning Monday May 2: Dealing with unseasonable weather

Here in the Dallas area we normally have very warm weather by the time May starts. By June it is more than warm, its hot and it continues to get hotter all summer long. When it comes to menu planning this creates some challenges because I do my best not to make anything that needs to be baked or roasted for a long period of time. In fact I do my best to cook most things on the stove top, crock pot or grill because it really helps to keep from heating up the house.

When I made my menu plan for May it reflected the expected weather, it had a lot of sandwiches and salads and such. Unfortunately we have been having very intense and unseasonably cold rainy weather. There has been storm after storm for the last month and just recently we have had spouts of cold weather. As I type this it is raining and 45 degrees outside, not exactly picnic conditions and of course everyone wants soup and roasted chicken so I have had to rework my menu plan a little. I can’t change it completely because I had already grocery shopped for the ingredients so instead I have to change the cooking methods to use the food I already have, for example I am making potato wedges one day instead potato salad. Of course now that I changed our plan the weather will probably warm back up and everyone will be wanting to grill again. What is the weather like in your neck of the woods?

This week we will be having…

For more tips and ideas check out organizing junkie

Much love, Aislinn and Emily

This entry was posted in menus, planning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

