Menu Planning Monday May 9th: Growing your own herbs

There is nothing better than having fresh herbs to add to your dishes but the reality is that spending money on fresh herbs at the store every time you need a few leaves is not really great for the budget. Last summer I started growing them for the first time because I had this need to make pesto but it wasn’t the most fruitful experience, turns out that it takes more than a month for them to really start growing and after 6 months or so they are all but done. For some of you with a green thumb this may not be the case in your home, perhaps you have been able to keep the same plant green and thriving for years. This year I decided to take a slightly different approach, I am going to grow them in phases to keep us in parsley year round. I’m thinking that I will start new seeds every 3 to 4 months so that by the time they are large and covered in tasty leaves they can replace the ones that are on their last leg. I am in the second month of my first batch so I will be purchasing more seeds in the coming weeks to prepare myself. For anyone that is thinking of trying this out but have never bought seeds before keep in mind that they are not sold year round, I found this out the hard way when I was looking for replacement seeds last October. I suggest purchasing multiple packets during the spring and summer so you have them when you are ready. Wish me luck that my new plan provides us with enough herbs to flavor our food year round!

This week we are having fresh herbs and…

For more menu planning ideas check out organizing junkie

Much love, Aislinn and Emily

This entry was posted in menus, planning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

