Pesto Potato salad

I usually make the same potato salad recipe that my mom makes. We used to have it often in the summer and I remember her making entire 10 lb bags of potatoes and 2 dozen eggs in a single batch and of course it was very rustic in that the pieces were very large, like the size of half an egg. Last summer I found myself making that potato salad every week and it got a little redundant. A couple months ago we had purchased this large container of pesto from Costco, shopping with Paul often means we end up with random stuff that is not on the list. Needless to say I found myself with 2 cups of pesto so I started adding it to stuff… you know just to add a little kick of flavor. Potato salad was maybe the third or fourth recipe I just adding a scoop of pesto and I have to say it was sooo good. Everyone loved the stuff and since the pesto was premade it did not add any extra prep time at all. I was at Costco a few weeks ago and bought another big jar of pesto just so I could make more potato salad.

Wash the potatoes and cut roughly into the size of one inch cubes, you can peel them if you prefer but I never bother. Place in cold water and place on the stove, then carefully set your raw eggs in the shell on top of the potatoes so that they can boil at the same time. Make sure everything is covered with the water and then place on medium high heat, once the water comes to a boil check the potatoes for tenderness every 10 minutes or so. Drain in a colander, setting the eggs aside then place the potatoes in a large bowl. Sometimes I put them right into a Tupperware so that everything is one place but if I am serving this to other people I will take the time to put the salad in a nice bowl. Gently toss the potatoes with the olive oil and vinegar before covering the bowl and placing in the fridge for at least 2 hours. Once cooled stir in the remaining ingredients including the peeled and sliced eggs, if you like larger chunks then stir the dressing to cover the potatoes then add the eggs and carefully fold. Serve at room temperature or slightly chilled and it keeps in the fridge for up to a week.

 

Much love, Aislinn and Emily

This entry was posted in BBQ, Quick and Easy, side dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

